Upcoming Events for the Next 20 Day(s)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Rockville amps? Anyone heard or had them?

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1
    Baja Supporter Nailit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Slidell, LA
    Boat

    1998 Baja 33 Outlaw
    Posts
    1,831
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 686 Times in 432 Posts

    Rockville amps? Anyone heard or had them?

    I was playing around with stereo, I currently have a 5 ch Memphis running everything. 2 speakers per 4 ch and have 3 subs on the single sub output running 1.3 ohm load.

    I have to play with the bass to hear the subs b/c they are now underpowered and when I increase the bass, it doesn't sound good on the highs.

    soo.. I cam across Rockville amps and supposedly have CEA rated amps as opposed to all the other crap. That is basically a rating of how many watts produced with a minimum amount of distortion. SO, they have a 1500 watt mono amp rated 1500 rms and 750 at 1ohm load under the cea rating.

    I actually ordered it just to see if it can push my subs. for $114, I figured what the heck.. Should come in while wife is out of town!!
    Last edited by Nailit; 03-09-2018 at 07:26 PM.

  2. #2
    Baja Supporter Nailit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Slidell, LA
    Boat

    1998 Baja 33 Outlaw
    Posts
    1,831
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 686 Times in 432 Posts

    Re: Rockville amps? Anyone heard or had them?

    Good news!! UPS tracking says it will get here tomorrow! More importantly before the mrs gets home. No explaining to do!!

    No one heard of them? Used them before??

  3. #3
    Baja Supporter tablerocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    near Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Boat

    1992 Baja 208 Islander
    Posts
    2,287
    Thanks
    725
    Thanked 722 Times in 520 Posts

    Re: Rockville amps? Anyone heard or had them?

    Never used them, seems like I saw them at a Wally World in Springfield last year.
    Looked them up on Amazon, decent specs, neat design.
    It'll be interesting to see how it sounds.
    Table Rock Lake is my home away from home, and big block power rules.

  4. #4
    Baja Supporter Nailit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Slidell, LA
    Boat

    1998 Baja 33 Outlaw
    Posts
    1,831
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 686 Times in 432 Posts

    Rockville amps? Anyone heard or had them?

    Quote Originally Posted by tablerocker View Post
    Never used them, seems like I saw them at a Wally World in Springfield last year.
    Looked them up on Amazon, decent specs, neat design.
    It'll be interesting to see how it sounds.

    It came in!!! Actually Looks nice, well made.
    I have a couple of options. CEA rating is 750 at 1ohm and 559 at 2 ohms. rms is 1500 at 1 ohm.. ? Will see! I betting or hoping on at least CEA output.
    My memphis baby belle 5 ch sub out is rated at 400 at 1 ohm and 200 at 2ohms. Real power. used to push the crap of out 10s in a sealed box in my last truck. but bench is not sealed, seat doesnt cover access holes completely.

    Actually thought about making plate or something thin to cover the access holes and insulate and let bench seat hold it down. My test this idea.

    I have 3 kicker subs:
    2 - 10 in 4ohm (bench) rated at 175 watts ea rms and 350 peak or 350 rms for both
    1 - 12 in dvc 2ohm (4 or 1 with switch) (anchor locker in cuddy) rated at 350-500 vented

    Currently running all 3 at 1.3 ohms... not sure how the .3 affects the 400 rating. But thats pushing all 3 now.

    Option 1
    Run all 3 at 4 ohm parallel at 1.3 ohm load to the Rockville. So around est. 700watts at 1.3?
    This really depends on the real wattage this thing puts out!

    Option 2 (probably best option if min Rockville output at CEA rating)
    Run 2 - 10s at 2 ohm Rockville at 559 watts and then run DVC 12” at 1ohm at 400 watts on the memphis.
    This actually the plan B of why I bought the 12” dvc 2ohm to run it at 4 ohm or 1 ohm.
    Last edited by Nailit; 03-15-2018 at 08:12 AM.

  5. #5
    Baja Supporter tablerocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    near Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Boat

    1992 Baja 208 Islander
    Posts
    2,287
    Thanks
    725
    Thanked 722 Times in 520 Posts

    Re: Rockville amps? Anyone heard or had them?

    Either way will really load up that amp, so it will be interesting an interesting test. If it will stay stable at sub-2 ohm loads, and do this repeatably and reliably, I'd say it's a good buy.

    Generally speaking, you get what you pay for with amplifiers, though I've seen/heard/had some low priced models that performed very well such as California Sound.
    Table Rock Lake is my home away from home, and big block power rules.

  6. #6
    Baja Supporter Nailit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Slidell, LA
    Boat

    1998 Baja 33 Outlaw
    Posts
    1,831
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 686 Times in 432 Posts

    Re: Rockville amps? Anyone heard or had them?

    Quote Originally Posted by tablerocker View Post
    Either way will really load up that amp, so it will be interesting an interesting test. If it will stay stable at sub-2 ohm loads, and do this repeatably and reliably, I'd say it's a good buy.

    Generally speaking, you get what you pay for with amplifiers, though I've seen/heard/had some low priced models that performed very well such as California Sound.
    I agree, the only question now is where can I mount the 2nd amp. Not sure it will fit in my lil cabinet under the sink.

    I could probably mount behind the fridge, but its not easily accessible. I may go test fit (hide amp in boat) tonight to get a good idea where it will go. I will definitely be tight in there, could also put under the bench seat in the lil void of the seat next to that cabinet.

    ??

  7. #7
    Charter Member #43
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Delray Beach Florida, Florida
    Boat

    2003 Baja 342 Performance
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 274 Times in 182 Posts

    Re: Rockville amps? Anyone heard or had them?

    Do you have fans? I mounted 4 computer fans around my amps and I donbt know if it helps but at least makes me feel like I tried...

  8. #8
    Baja Supporter Nailit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Slidell, LA
    Boat

    1998 Baja 33 Outlaw
    Posts
    1,831
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 686 Times in 432 Posts

    Re: Rockville amps? Anyone heard or had them?

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith342 View Post
    Do you have fans? I mounted 4 computer fans around my amps and I donbt know if it helps but at least makes me feel like I tried...
    I dont have fans, i also dont run them hard or loud when docked.

    But if i mount both in cabinet, it will need some airflow.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Charter Member #6 Anchorman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Leeesburg, Virginia
    Boat

    2002 Baja 33 Outlaw
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    188
    Thanked 538 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: Rockville amps? Anyone heard or had them?

    Quote Originally Posted by Nailit View Post
    I agree, the only question now is where can I mount the 2nd amp. Not sure it will fit in my lil cabinet under the sink.

    I could probably mount behind the fridge, but its not easily accessible. I may go test fit (hide amp in boat) tonight to get a good idea where it will go. I will definitely be tight in there, could also put under the bench seat in the lil void of the seat next to that cabinet.

    ??
    I have 3 or four where the fridge goes. you can put a lot of stuff in there.
    Because without beer things just dont seem to go as well

  10. #10
    Baja Supporter Nailit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Slidell, LA
    Boat

    1998 Baja 33 Outlaw
    Posts
    1,831
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 686 Times in 432 Posts

    Re: Rockville amps? Anyone heard or had them?

    Quote Originally Posted by Anchorman View Post
    I have 3 or four where the fridge goes. you can put a lot of stuff in there.
    So no fridge? I have one. That would easier, but use fridge occasionally


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •