Upcoming Events for the Next 20 Day(s)

Thread: Subs cutting out

Share/Bookmark
    Baja Boat Owner
    Boat

1999 baja 38 special
    Thanks

Subs cutting out

I need a little help. My subs (10" JL) intermitently go on and off. I believe the battery connections are good. I don't think the amp is overheating. I'm not technical in this stuff at all. Are there things that I can check?..... Or do I need to have a pro look at it?

Charter Member #11 IrishTornado's Avatar
    Boat

1992 Baja .38 Special Edition
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,263 Times in 851 Posts

Re: Subs cutting out

Don I'm betting Nightlife can tell you whats wrong he's got my system dialed in..

Baja Boat Owner
    Boat

2000 Baja 25 Outlaw
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by DonD. View Post
    I need a little help. My subs (10" JL) intermitently go on and off. I believe the battery connections are good. I don't think the amp is overheating. I'm not technical in this stuff at all. Are there things that I can check?..... Or do I need to have a pro look at it?
    A low battery will do that mine everytime, mids and highs will be fine but the subs will cut out if the batteries are too low.

Boat

1988 Baja 280
    Thanks

I don't have enough info to give you a solid answer. There are sveral things that could cause it.

1. The amp gain is not set correctly. If it is set to high depending on what kind of protection it has in it, if it see's distortion it could go into a protection mode.

2. Thermal shutdown. Again depends on what kind of protection it has built in.

3. Voltage.. Again depending on what kind of protection it has built in, if it see's to low a voltage it could go into protection.

4. you could have a loose connection, or a speaker voice coil that is casuing an intermitent short.

5. Could be an amp that is just being a PIA.